So I’m going to be on Korean television. nbd.

This week some potential investors or administrators or funding people or hey let’s just call them bigwigs came through the Village, so the miguk teachers dressed up all pretty and put on our nicest smiles and nodded through a bunch of meetings.  At the end of it the mayor of a town just north of us visited my class with a whole truckload of observers (some were teachers and some were other bigwigs) and another truckload of cameras.  All this while I’m teetering in heels, teaching the children about healthy sandwich options for fast food.

“What about this, students? Fried-chicken cake pizza sandwich?”

“TEACHER NOOOOO!”

And apparently I look super competent while I’m stuffing plastic cake slices into a rubber baguette half, because today they brought in a news crew. (It wasn’t just me, of course. They made the rounds of several different classrooms.)

Except that today was my first day teaching the Library class, AND PLUS I was teaching a group of kids who did not all know the English alphabet, much less, say, how to read.  And 70% of the class was hyperactive boys, none of whom understood the English for “stop that.”

So the news crew today came in mid-scavenger hunt, which, I gotta say, probably looked awesome. Look how engaged these kids are! Look how eager to learn! Hooray! They even got me on camera saying helpful things like “author!” and “title!” and “Jai, stop wrestling Henry” and other pertinent things.

And THEN a short and perky (I just described everyone here) (racism!) reporter started asking me questions and you guys I can’t remember what I said except for the first part:

Reporter: “It’s very crowded in here!”

Me: “They like it!”

?????

?????

Well, there goes my future in entertainment.  I don’t think I said anything as bad as “like such as the Iraq” but man I hope they don’t put that in. OR the part where Nick, the 9 year old who is nearly my mass but a foot shorter, about tackled me and Short Reporter in his zeal to be featured on camera.

 

